Review: Me Before You

Me Before You ~ Jojo Moyes

Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking
Date Published: December 31st, 2012
Pages: 369
Genre: Adult, Romance
Rating: 5 stars
How I Got the Book: Bought

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

Description:
“Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.”

Thoughts:

Wow, I don’t even know where to begin as this book completely exceeded my expectations. I guess I’ll start off by saying that I am not a romance lover at all and usually cannot stand romance type books one bit so when I say that I absolutely loved this book I mean it. I was completely surprised at how much I truly did love this book, romance and all.

The topic of this book is very controversial so I’m going to steer clear of it and just say that I felt Jojo Moyes approached it very well. The story is beautifully written with a tragic ending that I am still bitter about.

My favorite part of the book was the maze scene because as tragic as it is, what happened made Louisa who she is today. It made her the gorgeous, carefree spirit we all love so bravo on that.

Will’s character is more complicated than Louisa and I wish we could hear more from his perspective. It seemed like we heard from everyone else’s perspective with the majority being through Louisa’s, which I have no problem with but it would have been nice to hear his.

Overall:

A fantastic book and a must read. It is definitely not your typical romance novel, although I wouldn’t really know too much about romance novels as I literally never read them. Jojo Moyes does a fantastic job from the beginning till the end and I’m excited to see (for myself) what they do with the movie.

One thought on “Review: Me Before You

Leave a Reply

